We use cookies to customize content and advertising, to provide social media features, and to analyze traffic to our site. We also share information about your use of our site with our trusted social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read more.

    Bear Quartet

    Become fan 1 Rate 0 Like & Share
    Genre:Rock, Alternative, Indie
    /5 from 0 users

    Most Popular Songs (more)

    1Lovers Goodbye lyrics
    2Straw lyrics
    3Gone Gone lyrics
    4Fist or hand lyrics
    5I'm Slow lyrics
    6Flux Detail lyrics
    7From Nowhere lyrics
    8200 Killar Inga Tjejer lyrics
    9Left On The Bank Of The River lyrics
    10If You Have A Heart lyrics

    Most Popular Albums (more)

    1Tibet Ep [1995]
    2Everybody Else [1995]
    3Before The Trenches [1997]
    4It Only Takes A Flashlight To Create A Monster Ep [1995]
    5Cosy Den [1993]
    6Holy Holy [1995]
    7Penny Century [1992]
    8Revisied Ep [1994]
    9Family Affair [1993]
    10Flux Detail Ep [1995]


    With an innovative style of clear, sophisticated pop that originated in the small tundra town of Luleå, Sweden, The Bear Quartet's original line up of Matti Alkberg (guitar and vocals), Jari Haapalainen (guitar), Peter Nuottaniemi (bass), Johan Forsling (guitar) and Magnus Olsson (drums) officially began in 1989. But it wasn't 1992 until when label recognition took place with Stockholm's A West Side Fabrication upon the release of The Bear Quartet's first album Penny Century. Since then, the band has maintained a healthy discography of full-lengths over the years, including Cosy Den (1993), Family Affair (1994), Everybody Else (1995), Holy Holy (1996), Moby Dick (1997) and Personality Crises (1998). However, with the constant cycle of touring and recording, The Bear Quartet experienced a revolving lineup since their recording debut. Eventually settling with Björn Olsson (guitars), Jejo Perkovic (drums) and Calle Olsson (keyboards) in 1998, Alkberg, Haapalainen and Nuttaniemi have remained with the band. ~ Mike DaRonco, All Music Guide

    Biography by year

    1989 » The band is formed in Luleå/Sweden. The original members were Mattias Alkberg (guitar and vocals), Jari Haapalainen (guitar), Peter Nuottaniemi (bass), Johan Forsling (guitar) and Magnus Olsson (drums).
    1992 » The first album is released. Magnus Olsson leaves the band and is replaced by Urban Nordh.
    1995 » Johan Forsling leaves the band.
    1996 » Urban Nordh leaves the band and is replaced by Jejo Perkovic.
    1998 » During the recording of Personality Crisis, Carl Olsson (synthesizers, guitar and screaming) and Björn Olsson (guitar, hammond organ and backing vocals) sort of joins the band, they play on every song on the album and are with us during the following tour.
    1999 » Carl Olsson joins the band for real.
    2006 » A rumour says that Peter Nuottaniemi has left the band. It was true. But it's not anymore.
    2007 » The Bear Quartet are thinking about the next album.
    2008 » The Bear Quartet are still thinking about the next album.
    2009 » The Bear Quartet records a new album, entitled 89, released on september 9th.
    2010 » The Bear Quartet are recording music for a new album, it will be released in the autumn, but already in May/June you will be able to hear a couple of the songs.

    Side projects:

    Mattias Alkberg: Mattias Alkberg BD

    Carl Olsson: Paddington Distortion Combo and Paper.

    Jejo Perkovic: Infinite Mass and Brick.

    Peter Nuottaniemi: Container of love.

    Jari Haapalainen works with a lot of other bands as a producer.

    Pictures (5)

    Bear QuartetBear QuartetBear QuartetBear QuartetBear Quartet

    Fans (1)


    Similar Artists

    IncubusThe SmithsMetricGusterBon IverNada SurfThe Get Up KidsCold War KidsCaesarsThe New PornographersThe Honorary TitleTimo RäisänenBen LeeGirl In A ComaKina Grannis show more (16-31 of 60)

    More artists

    • popular on LSI
    • new on LSI


    leaderboard activity


    Facebook (0) LetsSingIt (1)