We use cookies to customize content and advertising, to provide social media features, and to analyze traffic to our site. We also share information about your use of our site with our trusted social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read more.

    Los Campesinos!

    Become fan 4 Rate 0 Like & Share
    Rank: history »
    /5 from 0 users

    Most Popular Songs (more)

    1In Accordance To Natural Law lyrics
    2Every Defeat A Divorce lyrics
    3Baby I Got The Death Rattle lyrics
    4The International Tweexcore Underground lyrics
    5Knee Deep at ATP lyrics
    6Drop It Doe Eyes lyrics
    72 - 12 lyrics
    8C Is The Heavenly Option lyrics
    9Plan A lyrics
    10The End of the Asterisk lyrics

    Most Popular Albums (more)

    1Romance Is Boring [2010]
    2We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed [2008]
    3Hold On Now, Youngster... [2008]
    4Sticking Fingers into Sockets [2007]


    Los Campesinos! are an indie pop band which formed in Cardiff, Wales in 2006. The band consists of Gareth Campesinos! (vocals, glockenspiel, keyboards), Aleksandra Campesinos! (vocals, keyboards, glockenspiel), Tom Campesinos! (guitar, vocals, keyboards), Neil Campesinos! (guitar), Ellen Campesinos! (bass, vocals), Harriet Campesinos! (violin, keyboards, vocals) and Ollie Campesinos! (drums). The band's name translates to "The Peasants" (or "The Farmers") in Spanish.

    The band performed their first gig in May 2006 at a student union club night, and went on to play a number of increasingly well-received gigs around Cardiff. An early demo was recorded featuring the songs Death to Los Campesinos!, It Started With a Mixx, Sweet Dreams, Sweet Cheeks, and live favourite You! Me! Dancing!. The songs were posted on the internet, bolstering the popularity established by their energetic live shows and earning them airplay on Beth & Huw's evening show on BBC Radio 1 Wales. The band's reputation continued to grow, and in August 2006 landed them a slot supporting Canadian supergroup Broken Social Scene.

    In November 2006, the band were signed by Wichita Recordings, who put out their first single on 26 February 2007, a double A-side featuring new songs We Throw Parties, You Throw Knives and Don't Tell Me to Do the Math(s). In April the band signed to Canadian label Arts & Crafts for Canadian and North American releases. In June 2007 the band released You! Me! Dancing! on limited edition 7" coloured vinyl, accompanied by a handful of dates playing Bath, Newport, Cardiff and London. The EP Sticking Fingers Into Sockets was released on 3 July on Arts & Crafts, produced by Broken Social Scene collaborator Dave Newfeld. The band embarked on their first full UK tour in October, preceded by the The International Tweexcore Underground single (released October 15th 2007).

    Their debut album, titled Hold On Now, Youngster, was released in the UK and as a digital download on February 25, 2008; the physical record was released North America on April 1.

    On August 1, 2008, the band confirmed their second record We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed will be released in the UK on October 14, 2008.

    On June 2 2009, Original member Aleks Campesinos announced she would be leaving the group after the release of their third album, to return to university to continue her studies

    Pictures (2)

    Los Campesinos!Los Campesinos!

    Fans (4)


    Similar Artists

    no artists

    More artists

    • popular on LSI
    • new on LSI


    Facebook (0) LetsSingIt (0)