We use cookies to customize content and advertising, to provide social media features, and to analyze traffic to our site. We also share information about your use of our site with our trusted social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read more.

    Sun Caged

    Become fan 1 Rate 0 Like & Share
    /5 from 0 users

    Most Popular Songs (more)

    1Unchanging lyrics
    2Sedation lyrics
    3Soil lyrics
    4Sun Caged lyrics
    5The Eighth Day lyrics
    6Closing In lyrics
    7Hollow lyrics
    8Home lyrics
    9Secrets Of Flight lyrics

    Most Popular Albums (more)

    2Sun Caged [2003]


    When guitarist Marcel Coenen (ex-Lemur Voice) and drummer Dennis Leeflang accidentally meet in late 1998 and the two discover their common interests in music, Coenen invites Leeflang to join a jam-session on new year's day 1999. After a successful gig, both agree it should be interesting to write some material together.
    Sun Caged is formed in the spring of 1999 after teaming up with bassist Rob van der Loo (ex-Rock Fiction/Agony). Operating as a studio-project at first, the guys decide to transform Sun Caged into a full-time band when Coenen's band Lemur Voice breaks up in the summer of 2000.

    After the come and go of several band members, and demo releases in 2000 and 2001, the lineup of Marcel Coenen (guitars), Dennis Leeflang (drums), Rob van der Loo (bas), André Vuurboom (ex-Jera, ex-Imperium - vocals) and Joost van den Broek (Star One/Ayreon - keyboards) is established in early 2002.

    When the band release a third demo in the summer of 2002, it's only a matter of weeks before a record deal is signed with Finnish Lion Music for worldwide release of their debut albums. Soon after, the band sign a contract with Marquee/Avalon Records for Japan.

    From late 2001 on, Sun Caged start building up an impressive status within their genre by playing lots of shows, of which several are remarkably sizable. The interest shown by bookers and fans of progressive metal grows considerably, especially remarkable for a band without an album in stores. This also leads to several interviews in prominent magazines.

    The debut album, mixed by progressive rock mastermind Arjen Lucassen, is recorded in early 2003 and released on October 22nd 2003.

    Drummer Dennis Leeflang was replaced by Roel Van Helden in late 2003. Also keyboardplayer Joost Van Den Broek was replaced by Rene Kroon in july 2004, and singer Andre Vuurboom was replaced by Paul Adrian Villarreal, a singer from the USA relocating to Europe, in late 2004.

    Those who try to describe Sun Caged's music will find this to be considerable. Influences range from progressive metal to fusion and jazz, death metal and atmospheric and ambient jaunts. The band's progressive blend is going to excite lots of listeners because of its diversity and excitement. Sun Caged have been told to contain elements in their music that draw comparison to band such as Ayreon, Meshuggah, Iron Maiden, Faith No More, Liquid Tension Experiment, Dream Theater, Pain Of Salvation and Cynic.

    The band is working on a new album which will be recorded at the end of 2005.

    Pictures (0)

    no pictures

    Fans (1)


    Similar Artists

    no artists

    More artists

    • popular on LSI
    • new on LSI


    leaderboard activity


    Facebook (0) LetsSingIt (0)