We use cookies to customize content and advertising, to provide social media features, and to analyze traffic to our site. We also share information about your use of our site with our trusted social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read more.

    Symphony X

    Become fan 13 Rate 1 Like & Share
    Rank: history »
    5.0/5 from 1 users

    Most Popular Songs (more)

    Electric Messiah lyrics
    2Nevermore lyrics
    3The Edge Of Forever lyrics
    4The Walls Of Babylon lyrics
    Sea Of Lies lyrics
    6The Damnation Game lyrics
    7Inferno (Unleash The Fire) lyrics
    Bastards of the Machine lyrics
    9The Sacrifice lyrics
    10Premonition lyrics

    Most Popular Albums (more)

    1Live On The Edge Of Forever [2001]
    2Paradise Lost [2007]
    V: The New Mythology Suite [2000]
    4The Damnation Game [1996]
    5The Odyssey [2002]
    6The Divine Wings Of Tragedy [1997]
    Iconoclast [2011]
    8Symphony X [1995]
    9Twilight In Olympus [1998]
    10Prelude To The Millennium [1999]


    Symphony X is an American progressive metal band founded in New Jersey in 1994 by guitarist Michael Romeo. Musically, Symphony X is often compared to other progressive metal bands such as Dream Theater and Fates Warning. They play in complex timings and odd meters while incorporating elements of symphonic metal and more traditional heavy metal into their sound. Their music also contains strong neo-classical elements reminiscent of Yngwie Malmsteen, Cacophony, Randy Rhoads, and other neo-classical metal artists.

    In early 1994 Michael Romeo recorded a demo tape entitled The Dark Chapter, which featured himself and keyboard player Michael Pinnella. The tape attracted a fair share of attention, particularly in Japan. He then recruited bassist Thomas Miller, drummer Jason Rullo, vocalist Rod Tyler, and finally keyboard player Michael Pinnella. Their self-titled debut album was recorded in the same year. The band's second studio album, The Damnation Game, followed six months later. Singer Rod Tyler had left the band by then and was replaced by current singer Russell Allen.

    The Divine Wings of Tragedy was the album that first gave Symphony X exposure in metal circles. It took a considerable time to record the album, with the recording sessions beginning in 1996 and concluding in 1997. The positive feedback from the specialized press served to establish Symphony X in Europe; their success in Japan only continued to grow. At the end of 1997 and for part of the next year, Jason Rullo, their drummer, had to stay away from the band in order to solve personal issues. He was temporarily replaced by Thomas Walling. Even with a temporary drummer, the band recorded Twilight in Olympus, released in early 1998. That year also saw the first live performances from the band, which by then had already gathered many fans from around the globe. Their first official show happened in 1998, in Japan. It was soon followed by a world tour. Bassist Thomas Miller left the band and was replaced by Michael Lepond in that year. A compilation album, Prelude to the Millennium, was released by the end of 1998.

    Jason Rullo returned to the drums for the band's fifth album, V: The New Mythology Suite, released in 2000. The album was their first concept album, dealing with the myth of Atlantis. The band went on a European tour shortly after its release and recorded their first live album, Live on the Edge of Forever. In 2002, the band released The Odyssey, an album prominently featuring a 24-minute long musical interpretation of the Homeric epic, the Odyssey.

    The band's album Paradise Lost, a concept album inspired by John Milton's epic poem of the same name, was recorded in Romeo's studio and released worldwide on June 26, 2007. The band claimed this work had darker themes musically. The release coincided with a 14-month world tour, including a tour through all of Europe with Dream Theater in the fall of 2007. The band also revealed plans to perform in Japan and other Asian countries, as well as appear for the first time ever in Russia, India, and the Middle East.

    Symphony X released their first music video for the song "Serpent's Kiss" on July 28, 2007. It was followed by a video for "Set the World on Fire," released on January 11, 2008.

    The band toured North and South America from October to November 2008, and are touring Asia in February 2009. The band are also currently in the process of gathering material for a Live DVD.

    Russell Allen − vocals (1994-present)
    Michael Romeo − guitar (1994-present)
    Michael Pinnella − keyboards (1994-present)
    Michael Lepond − bass guitar (2000-present)
    Jason Rullo − drums (1994-1998, 2000-present)

    Rod Tyler − vocals (1994)
    Thomas Miller − bass guitar (1994−2000)
    Thomas Walling − drums (1998−2000)

    Pictures (2)

    Symphony XSymphony X

    Fans (13)


    Similar Artists

    NightwishCradle Of FilthLamb of GodSlayerTriviumArch EnemySuicide SilenceSoilworkStratovariusMachine HeadSonic SyndicateSepulturaMiss May IDark TranquillitySirenia show more (16-31 of 60)

    More artists

    • popular on LSI
    • new on LSI


    Facebook (0) LetsSingIt (54)