We use cookies to customize content and advertising, to provide social media features, and to analyze traffic to our site. We also share information about your use of our site with our trusted social media, advertising and analytics partners. Read more.

    The Magnetic Fields

    Become fan 4 Rate 0 Like & Share
    /5 from 0 users

    Most Popular Songs (more)

    1Roses lyrics
    2A Pretty Girl Is Like... lyrics
    3Dancing In Your Eyes lyrics
    4Torn Green Velvet Eyes lyrics
    5In An Operetta lyrics
    6Mr. Mistletoe lyrics
    The One You Really Love lyrics
    8Absolutely Cuckoo lyrics
    9Meaningless lyrics
    Grand Canyon lyrics

    Most Popular Albums (more)

    1Distortion [2008]
    2Realism [2010]
    369 Love Songs Pt. 1 [1999]
    469 Love Songs Pt. 2 [1999]
    5The Charm Of The Highway Strip [1994]
    6Get Lost [1995]
    7The Wayward Bus [1991]
    8i [2004]
    969 Love Songs Pt. 3 [1999]
    10Holiday [1994]


    The Magnetic Fields is an American indie pop group founded and led by Stephin Merritt. He is the group's primary songwriter, producer and vocalist, as well as frequent multi-instrumentalist. While the musical style of the band is as malleable as Merritt's songwriting, its songs are commonly attributed to pop genres such as synthpop, indie pop, Baroque pop and noise pop. The band is often recognizable by Merritt's lyrics, often about love and often with irregular or neutral gender roles, that are by turns ironic, tongue-in-cheek, bitter, and humorous.

    The band released their debut single "100,000 Fireflies" in 1991, which was typical of the band's earlier career characterized by synthesized instrumentation by Merritt with lead vocals provided by Susan Anway (and then by Stephin Merritt himself from The House of Tomorrow EP onwards). A more traditional band later materialized, currently composed of Merritt, Claudia Gonson, Sam Davol, and John Woo, with occasional guest vocals by Shirley Simms. Their best-known work is the 1999 three-volume concept album 69 Love Songs. It was followed in the succeeding years by a "no-synth" trilogy: i (2004), Distortion (2008), and Realism (2010). The band's most recent album, Love at the Bottom of the Sea, was released in 2012.

    Nonesuch Records will be releasing the new Magnetic Fields album, 50 Song Memoir, on March 3, 2017. This 50-song, 5 disc recording chronicles the 50 years of Stephin Merritt's life with one song per year.

    Pictures (3)

    The Magnetic FieldsThe Magnetic FieldsThe Magnetic Fields

    Fans (4)


    Similar Artists

    A Perfect CircleThe Spill CanvasZebraheadLadytronTom WaitsmewithoutYoualt-J (∆)New Years DayEconoline CrushBebeEmily HainesThe Hidden CamerasThe GirlsConor OberstKhoma show more (16-31 of 60)

    More artists

    • popular on LSI
    • new on LSI


    leaderboard activity


    Facebook (0) LetsSingIt (7)