the internet lyrics database
Try our new website!

Sergey Lazarev

Follow 0
/ 5 (0)
Sergey Lazarev cover
Sergey Vyacheslavovich Lazarev (Сергей Вячеславович Лазарев) is a Russian singer, born on April 1, 1983 in Moscow, Russia. He rose to fame as the dark-haired member of the boy band Smash!! The group broke up in 2006. Since then Lazarev has pursued a solo career.

Together with British producer Brian Rawling, Sergey recorded most of the songs for his solo debut Don't Be Fake that was released in November 2005 and sold more than 300,000 copies in Russia alone. In May 2006, Sergey received Russia's national Music TV Channel's MUZ TV award as Best New Act. The fourth single from the album "Fake" was released to clubs in the UK, debuting on July 30 at #28 on the commercial club chart in Music Week.

Don't Be Fake's first two singles, "Eye Of The Storm" and "Lost Without Your Love", were soon released. The video clips of these singles were shot in Miami and South Africa, respectively.

The third single "Daje Esli Ty Uydiosh (Даже Если Ты Уйдёшь)" ("Just Because You Walk Away" in English) became the biggest single from the album, peaking at #1 for many weeks, remaining on the charts for over six months, coming back to the charts twice more, and eventually reaching #2 in the annual airplay chart of most played songs in 2006. Due to the massive popularity of the song, the album was re-issued with bonus tracks including 3 versions of the song - the English version (which can be found on the first issue), the Russian version, and a dance remix also sung in Russian. Sergey also performed the song at the MTV Russia Awards. The single was written by U.S. songwriter Gordon Pogoda and Australian writer/artist John Stephan.

The fourth single, "Fake", was plugged and the video clip was shot in London. Meanwhile the Fake Remixes EP was published. This was also promoted to some clubs in UK.

After the success of his first album, Sergey went to the studio and recorded a new album, TV Show. The video for the lead single, "Vspominay (Вспоминай)" was shot in Moscow. The English version of the song, "Everytime", was soon released along with the video clip, this one being similar to the Russian version.

Sergey did a cover of "Shattered Dreams", originally sung by Johnny Hates Jazz. This was the second single of the album and the first international single for Sergey. The video clip was said to be shot in Canada. In fact, a close examination of the video for the song reveals shots of Toronto landmarks (including Yonge-Dundas Square and the neon sign in front of the now closed-down Sam the Record Man) and even a Toronto Transit Commission bus.

The same year, Sergey won the Best Male Singer singer in RMA 2006, defeating Dima Bilan (Дима Билан). During the ceremony, Vlad and Sergey got together and sang "Belle" for the first time in years, ending the performance with a hug from the two former best friends.

TV Show was published in Europe in 2007. This was a theme-album talking about TV shows and reality by mostly love ballads. "Shattered Dreams" was in this album together with 11 other tracks, including "TV Or Radio", his third single and "Girlfriend", his fourth single of this album. His single "Shattered Dreams" was released in the UK later and currently available on some online music stores.

In 2008, he tried to represent Russia in the Eurovision Song Contest 2008 with the song "Flyer", but came 4th place, losing to Russian pop star Dima Bilan (Дима Билан).

He performed to full-capacity crowds at The Opera House in Bournemouth, England on 23 March 2008. He was supporting UK dance group Booty Luv.

In 2008 Sergey won MTV's Artist of the Year Award. Consequently releasing the video of the Russian version of the song "Almost Sorry", (Зачем придумали любовь) this one being the fifth and last single of the album. Songwriters of the Russian version (Chris Landon, Taryn Murphy, Lara D'elia).

In 2009 Sergey collaborated with artist Timati (Тимати) and made a video of the song "Lazerboy". In April 2009, Sergey promoted "Stereo", the lead single for his third solo album and sang "Already Know" and "Out of Control". All four songs were expected to appear on his upcoming album, but only "Lazerboy" made the cut.

On March 31, 2010, Electric Touch was released in Russian music stores.

The video for "Alarm" was released on May 10.

On June 26, it was confirmed the song "Feeling High" was the new single from Electric Touch.

In 2012, he released "Take It Off", yet another English-language song, possible hinting at another future return to attempts to break into the main European market, or participation in future Eurovision Song Contests.

Most Popular Songs (More)

Shiver lyrics
Sergey Lazarev
Everytime lyrics
Sergey Lazarev
Flyer lyrics
Sergey Lazarev
Eto Vsyo Ona lyrics
Sergey Lazarev
Party 2nite lyrics
Sergey Lazarev

Most Popular Albums (More)

Pictures (11)

Sergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey LazarevSergey Lazarev

Fans (0)

no fans

Similar Artists

The Cheetah GirlsMaria MenaVeronica MaggioEric SaadeFifth HarmonyTed GärdestadBTSEverything But the GirlSpandau BalletSandraJames ArthurCharles AznavourSoft CellKim LarsenKhaled
show more (16-31 of 60)

Artists you may also like

  • popular on LSI
  • new on LSI



Comments (0)