LetsSingIt the internet lyrics database

Sixpence None The Richer

Follow 27
5.0 / 5
New content available, review now!
Artist info:
Also known as
Verified yes
AboutSixpence None the Richer (also known as Sixpence) is an American Christian alternative rock band that formed in New Braunfels, Texas, and eventually settled in Nashville, Tennessee. They are best known for their songs "Kiss Me" and "Breathe Your Name" and their covers of "Don't Dream It's Over" and "There She Goes". The name of the band is inspired by a passage from the book Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis.

The band received two Grammy Award nominations, Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals for "Kiss Me" and Grammy Award for Best Rock Gospel Album for Sixpence None the Richer (1997).

Vocalist Leigh Nash described the origin of the band's name on the Late Show with David Letterman:

It comes from a book by C. S. Lewis called Mere Christianity. A little boy asks his father if he can get a sixpence—a very small amount of English currency in use at the time—to go and get a gift for his father. The father gladly accepts the gift and he's really happy with it, but he also realizes that he's not any richer for the transaction. C.S. Lewis was comparing that to his belief that God has given him, and us, the gifts that we possess, and to serve him the way we should, we should do it humbly—realizing how we got the gifts in the first place.

Named in honour of a passage from C.S. Lewis' Mere Christianity, the Austin, TX-based CCM trio Sixpence None the Richer began taking shape in the early '90s, when guitarist Matt Slocum first met vocalist Leigh Nash (nee Bingham) at a church retreat. Initially a trio rounded out by bassist T.J. Behling, the group recorded a 1993 demo which led to their signing with the R.E.X. label; their debut LP, The Fatherless & the Widow, appeared soon after. With rhythm guitarist Tess Wiley, new bassist J.J. Plasencio and drummer Dale Baker, Sixpence None the Richer toured before returning to the studio to record their sophomore effort, 1995's This Beautiful Mess; the Tickets for a Prayer Wheel EP followed later that same year. Both Wiley and Plasencio exited prior to the group's next LP, an eponymously titled effort issued in 1997. Two years later, the band achieved their greatest success with the single "Kiss Me." The song was featured on the third season to the WB drama Dawson's Creek and catapulted Sixpence None the Richer's starpower into the mainstream. Praise continued; the band's rendition of The La's "There She Goes" was also a major hit thanks to its inclusion in the Nickolodeon film Snow Day. The new millennium look bright as well; despite the departure of founding drummer Dale Baker in 2001, Sixpence None the Richer gathered material for a fourth album. Rob Mitchell replaced Baker and the band inked a new deal with Reprise. In fall 2002, Sixpence None the Richer returned to form with the lushly beautiful Divine Discontent. The band's cover of the Crowded House classic "Don't Dream It's Over" pushed Sixpence None the Richer's name back into the charts in early 2003; the song's inclusion on the soundtrack to the WB's Smallville was a major hit among the teen audience.

Most Popular Songs (More)

Most Popular Albums (More)

Artists you may also like

Similar genre
Popular on LetsSingIt
New on LetsSingIt
show more artists with similar genre
show this week's top 1000 most popular artists
show all recently added artists

Pictures (3)

Sixpence None The RicherSixpence None The RicherSixpence None The Richer

Fans (27)

show more (16-27 of 27)



Comments (145)